Time out from frugality

This afternoon we’re leaving for a ski trip, so I won’t be posting for the next five days. It seems a bit luxurious to be heading off to a chalet with hot tub and ski in/out access when I’m smack dab in the middle of learning to live simply and saving my money. Or…the word “hypocritical” comes to mind! But, in our defense:

1) We planned this trip with another family quite some time ago and by the time we established The Dream and The Plan it was too late to back out of the commitment.

2) We’re paying cash for the trip, and have a set budget for expenses. We meal-planned with the other family to reduce food costs and I’ll be bringing up some homemade soup, muffins, pancake mixes, etc. I’m actually quite pleased with how little I spent yesterday buying groceries for this trip.

3) The cash came from Husband’s annual bonus, and the amount we’re budgeting is about 25% of the bonus. The rest went to debt reduction and savings.

4) Husband and I did not buy each other gifts this past Christmas nor did he get me a gift for my recent 40th birthday. We decided this trip would cover all that.

Soooo, off we go to play in the snow for a few days. Hope you all have a wonderful week and I hope you’ll come back and check in with me again!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by carosgram on February 2, 2008 at 8:50 am

    No need to apologize for seeking R & R. Most civilized countries recognize that everyone needs a chance to recharge, a break from the routine and that actually you are more productive after doing this. So go in good conscience and have a great time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

