Something old, something new

On Sunday I went to pick up my latest and greatest thrift find. A friend’s mother is moving into an independent living facility and thus majorly downsizing. I scored myself this baby, and I’ve named her Martha:

If you are wondering why the background is crooked it’s because the table into which the sewing machine is built has a broken leg on one side. I managed to find a temporary solution later on. The machine itself is marked with the Woodwards brand, a department store that was very popular when I was a kid but went bankrupt in the 80’s. I’m guessing this machine is at least 30 years old. But it does seem to work! Great for a beginner like me to learn on, right?

And to go with my newfound friend I scored this find at the thrift store the week before:

It was $5.99. Woo Hoo!

So now I’m going to learn how to sew. First I need to sit down and read the Owner’s Manual. Yes, it was in one of the drawers. Then I’ll have to have my Mum give me a quick lesson while I learn to do some straight stitches. I did learn how to sew in Home Ec class, back in Grade 10. That was about 25 years ago, so I’m a bit rusty. I don’t even know what I’m planning on making just yet, although Daughter has some pajama pants that are about 6 inches too long in the legs, so perhaps I’ll hem something. She also has some pants with holes in the crotch seams. I’d like to sew those up. And then, of course, I’m going to make some pads to send to Goods4girls!

Oh, and the something new? A preview into my next Veggie Tales post:

My very first ever harvest, my very first ever homegrown vegetable. I picked it (and ate it) not long after the sewing machine arrived. Never thought I could get so excited about a radish!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Before using Martha- Consider getting her tuned up. An old sewing machine, in poor condition will drive even the most experienced sewer insane.

    Unfortunately, making clothing is not as cost effective as I had hoped….

    Reply

  2. Another inspiring blog entry! Yes, I know it is just a used sewing machine. But it represents one more step toward your future – and the more I read your blog, the more I know that you are really on the right track. This blog entry just makes me want to go find a sewing machine and start learning myself!

    Kristi

    Reply

  3. That radish looks delicious!

    Reply

  4. Posted by ruralaspirations on May 7, 2008 at 8:10 am

    Spacemom, great advice! My mother, who used to sew all our nice clothes when I was a kid, has even told me that making your own isn’t necessarily cost-effective. I definitely learned that from knitting! I’m actually not too interested in sewing clothing. I’d like to do some household linens, and mostly mend things.

    Kristi, keep your eyes open on places like freecycle, thrift sales, etc…your own “Martha” might find you too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

