The Dish on Natural Soap

I was going to wait to write this post but I’m just so excited by the results that I had to post about it today.

As some of you may remember, I decided a few months ago that once I’d used up the last of my mega-bottles of cheap, commercial shampoo and conditioner I would switch to natural shampoo bars. I wanted less plastic, and soap made from natural (i.e. non-petroleum based) products that would be gentler on my body and also on the Earth (because all our soaps and detergents end up in our water system). 

6This past week a large Craft Fair was on at our local convention centre and there were at least six different soapmakers, so it was my chance to check out the products and talk to the people who make the stuff. I bought a Rosemary Shampoo Bar from Pacific Coast Soap Works. Yesterday I tried it for the first time. 

Now I confess, I was a bit nervous and not expecting a positive outcome. First, I’ve read about funky hair syndrome and was unsure how a rinse with diluted vinegar would turn my hair from greasy into gorgeous. Second, I had a nice chat with the lovely lady at Kama Soaps and she told me her long tresses didn’t like the shampoo bars she’d made; despite the vinegar rinse her hair was “funky” even after several days of use (she suspected it was her very hard water; ours is nice and soft; and sure enough the link above notes that funky hair syndrome can result from very hard water). So I wondered if my long tresses would suffer the same fate. Finally, I’ve bought into the whole “humans need commercial shampoo and conditioner” bit that I found it hard to believe that a bar of soap that is basically just saponified oils with some nice smells thrown in would be sufficient to clean and condition my hair.

sharosmrAnd so into the shower I went. The soap lathered up very nicely, though interestingly the lather seemed to disappear the more I scrubbed my head (adding water helped). I guess that’s what happens when you don’t have Sodium Laurel Sulfate in your stuff! When I rinsed my hair it felt…normal! See, I ran out of my commercial conditioner a few weeks before I ran out of shampoo, so I was using a spray-on, leave-in conditioner after I was done in the shower. So I was getting used to that feeling of having hair stripped of all its oils after shampooing. You know – you run your hands over your wet hair and they don’t slide along, but rather stick to the hair and pull on it. Well, after using the shampoo bar it didn’t feel stripped at all. I didn’t notice any difference after using the vinegar rinse (which was the same bottle I use to mop my floors, lol, gotta love using natural products in your home), but the next time I washed my hair it did seem that my hair felt a bit more “slippery” after the rinse, who knows? So…after I was done in the shower I wrapped my long hair up in a towel, and when I was dry and dressed I unwrapped it to see what sort of disaster lay in wait for me (I was concerned that my hair wasn’t slippery because it was “funky”). The first amazing thing I noticed is that I was able to comb it easily, no spray-on conditioner needed! Right then and there I can look forward to less hair breakage. The next test was how it would look when it dried. I’m pleased to report that it looked lovely. Now, my hair is quite damaged from years of colouring and bad shampoos so while it wasn’t model-perfect it was, for my hair, really really nice. It feels great, too. Finally, the next day my hair did not feel any greasier than it does after washing with the conventional stuff. If anything it feels less so because it hasn’t been coated with chemical goop. I’ve now washed my hair twice with this shampoo bar and vinegar rinse and I couldn’t be happier with the results. Yet one more benefit is when you are rinsing the vinegar out of your hair and some of it gets into your mouth by accident, instead of tasting disgusting chemical goop it was sorta like salad! Anyways, the shampoo bar was $7 for a 6.5 oz slab that will probably last us for months given we don’t wash our hair every day. Definitely a good value!

Since I started using natural soaps this summer I have been very impressed with how long they last. I do keep them on a wooden, slatted soap dish like the one pictured above and I leave the shower door open when we’re not inside, and the window in the bathroom is always open. That all helps a great deal. The prices are not bad at all. For example, my favorite (so far!) soaps from the Sunshine Coast Body Care company are 4 bars for $20 and each bar lasts me at least a month. I got a big bar of Hemp Forest soap from Kama and it was $5.50 (it’s made with hemp oil and scented with pine and cedarwood; I’m using it now and it smells lovely and the lather is luxuriously smooth and creamy). I also got a lime Luffa Soap from Pacific Coast for under $6. I think people assume (I know I always did) that natural soaps are a luxury that you can’t afford for daily use, but really that isn’t the case. Sure, they may be expensive compared to commercially available soaps, but they last just as long if not longer, and they are such a wonderful experience for the body and senses, plus it feels so good to be buying a responsible product from a sustainable, local small business. Is five or six dollars a month really too much for all that? I can tell you all that I am a complete convert and I will never, ever go back to commercial drugstore products again. So get you all to a soapmaker near you (there are some amazing ones in the US) and make the switch! (as I write this I keep running my hands through my hair, not quite believing that the softness is natural and not a coating of crud!)

7 responses to this post.

  1. Hey, we’re moving this direction too. We haven’t yet found a solid dish soap we like. I did want to put in a plug for the LUSH shampoo bars, though, because after trying a couple that we didn’t like we bought a couple of LUSH ones to try (as well as their solid conditioner) and we are totally sold. They really do last forever. We are a four-shower-a-day family (dh and dd14 shower daily, the rest of us every 2nd or 3rd day) with a lot of long fine straight girl hair. Normally I quail over how much product we go through, but we’re 3 1/2 weeks into a LUSH squeaky green bar and you can barely tell it’s been used. The solid conditioner seems to disappear as fast as soap, if not a little faster, but shampoo really does live up to its longevity billing. I know you’ve found other stuff you’re happy with, but I did want to say that LUSH on-line has been a good option for us, since we don’t have local sources.

    Reply

  2. Posted by ruralaspirations on November 16, 2008 at 10:52 am

    That’s good to know, Miranda. I knew LUSH made them, but hadn’t any feedback. Thanks!

    Reply

  3. I quite like my Lush shampoo bar as well, and so does the husband. When I’m feeling really radical I’ll just wash my hair with baking soda (sprinkle on scalp, massage it in) and then do the vinegar rinse – it works quite well!

    Reply

  4. This is crazy! I just clicked on your site so I could leave you a message about finding Pacific Coast shampoo bars at Circle Craft. And here I read you already found them! I bought the lemongrass one and I love it. I also bought waaaaay too many soaps at Kama, but they all smelled so good!
    I’ve never been told about a vinegar rinse. What is it for? I have super-short hair so maybe I don’t need to??

    Reply

  5. […] Can I just tell you that I am LOVING my hair! Here’s what I’ve learned since we started using the bar two months ago (and yes, we are still on the same […]

    Reply

  6. Posted by Alexwebmaster on March 3, 2009 at 1:47 am

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

    Reply

  7. After reading this article, I feel that I need more information on the topic. Could you suggest some more resources ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

