So Close I Can Taste It

It’s getting close to the 1 year anniversary of this blog. It was around this time last year that I was visiting my Dad and his wife at their peaceful cabin on a lake, lying in bed that morning listening to the silence punctuated with bird calls. I got up, and with binoculars in hand spent a long time lingering my gaze over the water, watching mergansers and ducks and kingfishers helping themselves to breakfast. All around me was beauty and peace.

Numerous conversations between myself and my husband played soundlessly in my mind: wouldn’t it be nice to have some land, to live on an acreage…but we so loved the city, too. I’d never lived in a rural environment and I was unsure, but that morning I decided that the only way to find out was to try.

And so when Husband and I sat down to discuss our finances and realized that we needed a concrete goal to work towards, I made my offer and he happily accepted. We formulated The Dream – to purchase a small acreage in early 2009, The Goal – to pay off all debts and save up a downpayment by the end of 2008, and The Plan – to live frugally, trim budgets, and stop buying on credit. I found that The Plan aligned perfectly witih my growing desire to live sustainably and consume responsibly; I discovered Simple Living. It was the start of a journey and this blog has documented the process along the way.

We are now almost at the end of 2008. We are debt free, and we have our downpayment. The local real estate market has started to crash and if things go the way they appear to be going, we should be able to pick up what we want for a great deal less than we would have had to pay even a year ago. Husband and I have been watching the market for years, and have now begun to monitor specific properties in our area of choice. This region lies just outside the city proper, is considered semi-rural, and their market is dropping faster than in the city. I have a list of several properties that have been on the market for well over six months, and recently prices have started to drop significantly. Yesterday, Husband and I left the kids with their grandparents and headed out for a drive to check out some of the listings.ย 

It’s all so close I can taste it. It’s almost all I think about when I lie in bed at night waiting to fall asleep. I dream of open fields surrounded by trees, of barns and dogs and chickens and hearths. Room by room I design my dream house – simple, functional, cozy. It won’t be long until Spring, when the market traditionally fires up after a winter break, only this time I predict that prices will not recover as some irresponsible real estate spokespeople have claimed. And then we’ll really see prices fall. It is my hope that we’ll have turned our Dream into Reality by autumn.

8 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so glad to hear things are getting closer and closer for you and your family. Achieving your dream will be so sweet indeed after all of your hard work and perseverance in the interim. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. Ooooooo, lucky! I wish you guys all the luck in the world! So glad to hear that in this economic slump that someone can benefit.
    P!

    Reply

  3. Oh yeah…and really looking forward to some pictures….Hint hint.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Cath on December 7, 2008 at 11:39 am

    This is very inspiring – I’ve discovered your blog relatively recently and have been rooting for you from afar!

    Reply

  5. Posted by dawnrachele on December 8, 2008 at 9:30 am

    I’m very curious where your looking ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  6. I am really glad to hear that you guys are following your dream ๐Ÿ™‚
    Little is of more importance than knowing what your dreams are and then trying for it. It must be so enjoyable for you to be so close, enjoy it all.
    Scribhneoir

    Reply

  7. We’re in a similar boat, watching and waiting for the prices to drop down to the realistic level.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Monica on December 29, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Congratulations! Wishing you the best in 2009.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

