Good Neighbours: priceless

This is just SO cool. And only someone who has just moved from the city could probably relate to how cool it really is. The rest of you are probably going to read on and say: duh!

Just a few minutes ago, while I was making muffins for lunch, there came a knock at the door. It was Bill, our neighbour across the street. He was sent over by his wife to borrow a tablespoon of yeast.

I was tickled on two levels. First, in all my years I don’t think I have ever experienced this classic neighbourly exchange. “Can I borrow a cup of sugar?” is simply not heard much anymore. I mean, not only do many of us never meet our neighbours but in our dual-working family, over-scheduled society it’s not very common to be at home during the day, baking, and have a neighbour home during the day to which one can turn for missing items.

The second reason I was so tickled was that I actually HAD yeast to give her. Two years ago I would not have had yeast, nor most any baking item, to give.

Sigh. I love this country life!

3 responses to this post.

  1. This is a very good omen, methinks. Bodes very well for the neighbourhood!

    Reply

  2. Love it! I can’t wait to get moved into our new place. There’s a house around the corner with horses, donkeys, cows, and a goat….and a huge pile of manure off to the side. I plan to knock on their door and ask if I can haul off their poop for my garden!

    Reply

  3. That is awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

