Snow Day in the Country

This winter has been pretty mild, even by West Coast standards. In the garden right now crocuses are blooming and daffodil leaves are growing tall (except those the deer get to!). So imagine my surprise when I woke up this morning to find this scene outside my window:

It was so pretty and quiet out there when I went for my run with the dog. After I got back Husband hit the trails too, but not on foot. Soon he had company:

The kids were thrilled and I was happy to have some quiet time in the house for tea. I was also really excited for them, that they could just walk out the door and go for a fun ride through the winter-wonderland forest with their Dad.

Later on the sun came out and the snow began to melt some. That afternoon I got to take my first ride on the ATV. I didn’t drive, but I so enjoyed riding on the back. The dog ran beside us barking excitedly and I got to see the views while sitting on my butt! I have to confess I also found it strangely romantic. Not in a Hollywood Moment kind of way, more just that here I was with my Husband riding on an ATV across our property, out the gate, and along the trail…a whole new experience for this city girl! Sometimes I just have to pinch myself that we have really done it. We are really here, living the life. And it is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

